x-plane 11 and FDS MX SERIES

A forum for open discussions. Feel free to discuss any and all elements of Flightdeck Building. NB: This section is for individual builders to openly discuss issues that may or may not pertain to FDS. Organizations/Political Groups or Commercial Entities Will require approval prior to posting. Prior Approval From FDS required prior to posting items for sale. No Exceptions.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
ridgenj
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 1:45 pm
Location: New Jersey

x-plane 11 and FDS MX SERIES

Post by ridgenj »

not sure how many of you had the chance to try x-plane. it just blew my mind away. Nat Crea, the GURU of sim visuals migrated two years ago to XP 10.
His advantage was to have a cockpit with FDS I/O cards and Sim Avionics.
Definitely a winning combination when you want to move across platforms.
i use PrePar3D and Prosim737, the latter being somehow hostile to x-plane fans.
Peter and Steve have been very honest about x-plane not being currently their focus of attention. Fair enough since they have a successful business to manage.

Meanwhile i have met so many hard core P3D folks that are already migrating to XP11 and not looking back.

Maybe i can answer my own question but still giving another try.
Would be possible to expand mx-mcp/efis and mx-cdu drivers allow data injection into other avionics software that are not commercial ware?
Similar PMDG drivers, willing to pay to play.
Any others interested?

cheers
luis

melnato
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by melnato »

Mark and Steve will give you the definitive answer, but there are no FDS "drivers" anymore.
Unless your referring to the old Tekworx modules?

Hardware is hardware, it doesn't really communicate with any particular Sim platform...the avionics suites are the communication link.
Eg, If you want to use PMDG and XP11, you need PMDG to provide the driver/sdk etc...or ProSim to support XP11, not FDS.

Cheers,

Nat

ridgenj
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 1:45 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by ridgenj »

Thanks Nat, was not aware that integration should happen at the suite side.
I have the new ethernet radios and would love to have the working with x-plane. my impression was that they have their own build in proprietary i/o card to communicate, might be totally wrong about this one. For the rest of panels, Phidget, ARDUINO and POKEYS provide plug-ins for x-plane.

cheers
Luis

Post Reply