LED Brightness Issue (resolved)

This Forum is designed to support and assist in the use of any/all FDS related Interface products.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
DeckerZ
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Belfast

LED Brightness Issue (resolved)

Post by DeckerZ »

Hi Guys, I have a query about powering LED's from my FDS-SYS4X High Capacity interface card . I have about a dozen or so LED's connected to my MIP and was testing the Landing Gear LED Panel. I noticed the LED's don't seem to be very bright and was wondering is it because I have 2 LED's powered from one board connection. Should I be powering each LED individually, and if so would I have to select the same value within the IIT software so that the both LED's come on as if they were one?
Here's a few photos. Sorry about the camera shake, but I had to turn off the flash otherwise the flash would have overpowered the LED's. There are no shorts, although it looks like it from the first photo, the photo just doesn't show the seperation of the anode's and cathode's (common to all) from the topmost LED's.
Image
Image
Image
Image

Jetcos
Posts: 1266
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Do you have the spec's of the LED's?

2 LED's to each wire on the 10 pin connector is the rule. 8 wires, 1 common per 10 pin connector.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

DeckerZ
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Belfast

LED Spec

Post by DeckerZ »

Hi Steve, I don't have the spec of the LEDs as they came with my MIP, but I replaced them with Ultrabright ones, it's an improvement but I'm still not 100% happy with them. I'll upload a photo for comparison. Out of interest, what spec do you recommend?

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Post by pcos »

No need to upload pics. This is all about brightness levels. The SYS boards are used in hundreds of projects and have more than adequate output to power super brights. Specs are not very telling with many led suppliers....
We buy a specific brand locally as we can maintain some regularity.
Best of luck there, you'll get it.
Peter[/i]
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Also, remember to sand off the rounded tip on the LED's - that will give you a more even spread of the light. Many LED's are very "focused", giving you two "hotspots" on the annunciator.

Try to source LED's with similar brightness, or as close as you can get. Some are VERY dim, other is overly powerful. The supplier I used is a big company supplying manufacturers (and thank goodness they sell to individuals as well!), and they provide everything I need (and a lot I don't need) to know. The company is ELFA, located in Sweden. Don't know if they sell to Ireland, but here's the link:
ELFA EU website

I can look up which ones I used, but you'll have to give me a day or two. Considering the teflon specs on my memory, you might want to send me an email or PM... :D

Worst case, add a resistor between the LED pairs and the SYS board. You'll have to do some trial and error to find the correct value, but it will help.

I have used "non-FDS" LED's on my overhead, and they work great. I just made sure the luminosity was close on the different colors - except for the blue ones, as they have a dual state anyway.

DeckerZ
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by DeckerZ »

I never thought of sanding the tip of the LED's, but now you mention it, it does make sense. I am getting the 'hotspots' on most of my LED's. I know it shouldn't be like that. Here's a photo of them.
Image

Image
What do you suggest? Change the LED's or file them down? I can't do anything with the ADFS panel as they are LED switches.

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Difusion.

Post by pcos »

Higher quality annuns Like ours have more parts and would include elements that diffuse the light properly. The FDS AN1 units are that way.
We think they are a bargain considering the many pieces involved, printed circuit board, proper connectors, accurate legends/fonts, diffusion elements, and a wiring harness, etc.
LEDs are very narrow in their light pattern and the result will be as you see many times.
Peter

http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/prod_info.php?id=502
Image
Last edited by pcos on Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

I can confirm that, Peter!!! :)

I have the FDS annunciators on my MIP, and they are uniform throughout. As for the other annunciators I have, there is no diffuser. Had to sand the tip of the LED's to get even distribution of the light on quite a few of the annunciators. Not all, as I sourced LED's that spread the light better.

If I'd do it over again, I would order the FDS kits. MUCH easier!


If you're going to fix your hotspots "in situ" (removing the label and letting the LED's stay in place), use a Dremel and a rounded, fine file (I preferred a ball-shaped one). Just "nick" the tip of so that the LED's are flat. Try to get an even surface, but you don't need to be very accurate. I placed a drop of cyano glue to get rid of the "frosted glass effect", but I don't think it was necessary. Oh well, probably got .5 lumens extra... :D

Remember to have the vacuum cleaner nearby. Filing LED's makes a lot of dust!

archen
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:33 am

Post by archen »

DeckerZ wrote:I never thought of sanding the tip of the LED's, but now you mention it, it does make sense. I am getting the 'hotspots' on most of my LED's. I know it shouldn't be like that. Here's a photo of them.
Image

Image
What do you suggest? Change the LED's or file them down? I can't do anything with the ADFS panel as they are LED switches.
Hi DeckerZ!
This looks like Simworld's MIP. Could it be that? If you buy wide angle high brightness leds from example ebay and then sandpaper the bottom side of the legend you will get better results. The leds simworld supply is worthless.

I'm using the simworld MIP and did that to my annunciators.. pretty happy with it but now I've replaced them with FDS annunciators (they fit into simworld MIP without modification). Much much better... for my ovhd I did go FDS all the way.

Peter cos is absolute fantastic. His support and interest in helping you is second to none.

If I were you I would buy FDS annunciators. If you have a look at my webpage you will find many pictures of both simworld annunciators and FDS.

www.helinare.nu (you will have to scroll back in time)

Regards,
Anders

DeckerZ
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Belfast

Re: Difusion.

Post by DeckerZ »

pcos wrote:Higher quality annuns Like ours have more parts and would include elements that diffuse the light properly. The FDS AN1 units are that way.
We think they are a bargain considering the many pieces involved, printed circuit board, proper connectors, accurate legends/fonts, diffusion elements, and a wiring harness, etc.
LEDs are very narrow in their light pattern and the result will be as you see many times.
Peter

http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/prod_info.php?id=502
Image
Hey Pete,

Is there a link to the FDS AN1 units for the 737 MIP? I can't seem to find it on the site.

Cheers

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Post by pcos »

Custom order item. Simply email and we can discuss your needs.
Peter
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

Post Reply