Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

JETMAX MCP ALTITUDE DIAL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
09RKC



Joined: 16 Dec 2013
Posts: 103
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:51 pm    Post subject: JETMAX MCP ALTITUDE DIAL Reply with quote

Hi everyone!

First post with a functionality question.

In B737-800 YouTube files I've watched, when the pilots dial in an assigned altitude, they press the Altitude Dial as if it were a button. The Altitude Dial on my JM MCP feels like it doubles as a push-button.

Is there a function of pressing the altitude dial "button" after dialing a new altitude and if so, what is it? Do the other dials also have dual functionality? I'm not speaking of the A/P lighted button below the dial, rather the dial itself.

Tkx so much!!
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ribel



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Location: EGNT

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are they not just putting a finger on the dial to signify to the other pilot to acknowledge the new setting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
09RKC



Joined: 16 Dec 2013
Posts: 103
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ribel wrote:
Are they not just putting a finger on the dial to signify to the other pilot to acknowledge the new setting?


Well, that's what I thought at first but in looking closely, to me it sure looks like they're pushing it as if it were a button. And again, on my JM MCP, the altitude dial "feels" like it doubles as a button.

Someone told me it's only functional in certain modes, like VNAV where pushing the "button" sends the climb/descend command. That's the first thing I'm going to try when I get back in town.

Tkx for the reply!!
Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fordgt40



Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 51
Location: Chelmsford UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no switch function on this dial for the 737 -600 to 800.

Boeing 737 manual says

Rotate –
• sets altitude in ALTITUDE display in 100 foot increments
• arms V/S mode if rotated while in ALT HOLD at selected altitude.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group