Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A couple of questions. (Resolved)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flyboy01



Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Newcastle Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:32 am    Post subject: A couple of questions. (Resolved) Reply with quote

Hi,
I am having a couple of problems with my software.
1. This is my most frustrating one. When the auto pilot is selected after takeoff, the aircraft does everything correctly up till the cruise phase of flight. When the aircraft levels out, The purple speed Issue is displayed which corresponds to the selected Mach cruise speed in the CDU. The aircraft fails to hold this speed. It slows down till it gets to the lower stall buffet and then stalls if you do not revert to manual throttle. All indications in the PFD at the top suggest that it should be following the CDU speed.

2. My captains displays seem to constantly freeze for about 90 seconds and then start working for a couple of minutes then freeze again. I am not sure if this is an issue with the processing speed of the computer. Are there and minimum system requirements for Sim Avionics software? I am running an old P4 for this machine is there a requirement for 10/100/1000 network adapter as i just have 10/100. This i think should not be the problem as all the other computers work.

Any help would be appreciated.

Kind Regard
Trevor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 953
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Trevor,

Which version are you running.?

On the EICAS what is the N1 THRUST REF ?
Is it >90% or <90%

Is the N1 always at max THRUST REF ?

If it is, then can you check your derate settings in the Airline Policy.
FMC > INDEX > MAINT > AIRLINE POLICY
The derates should be :
GA = 0
CON = 5
CRZ = 2
Change and save if necessary.

A long while ago there was a typo in the default CONFIG file which set the CRZ value too high... This reduces the available CRZ thrust.


If they are ok and your N1 is > 90% then maybe check the OAT.
If something is wrong with the FS weather and the temperature is too high the aircraft won't be able to maintain speed.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
flyboy01



Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Newcastle Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

I am running Ver 1.51

the max N! thrust ref i can get without a derate is 98.3%
I thought you were supposed to be able to get 104%

mine had all 0 in the policy so i have changer the CON to 5 and the CRZ to 2 I will see how this goes.

MY fmc is telling me that my oat in cruise at the moment is -47.9 @ FL330. This does not seem to be excessive oat for this height.

As for weather i am using Active sky Next

Which is the default comfig file you are talking about and the typo so i can check this out?

Also any ideas on the captains displays freezing at regular rates. is this a PC issue?

Kind Regards
Trevor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
flyboy01



Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Newcastle Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,
Part 2. LOL

I conducted a flight at fl 330 and had no issues.
conducted a second flight at fl 340 and problem showed itself again.
Conducted a third flight at fl 380 and had same problems.

I will conduct a flight with active sky weather and vatsim disconnected and see if i get the same problems above fl 330.

Also to note, that at no time even pre setup do i see max N1 OF 104%. The highest max N1 i have seen is 98.7%

will keep you posted.
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 953
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok Keep us posted
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
flyboy01



Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Newcastle Australia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,
I have conducted more testing and it appears not to be weather related. The last flight i did i had Active Sky Next switched off and also not connected to vatsim ( no external influence to weather changes). I set the weather to clear skies. The Aircraft still climbed at the correct speed but upon reaching Cruise Altitude and the aircraft leveling off, the speed starts to drop back to the stall buffet. Another thing I have noticed is that if I try to increase the Cruise Mach speed in the CDU, The engines will not power up to max N1 to speed up. The N1 does speed up by about .5% but takes a long time to try and increase speed, but fails to reach the target speed set in the CDU. Please note that the magenta speed Issue does correlate with what is programed in the CDU. Would it be of any benefit to jump on skype and I can display a video feed of what is actually happening.
Cheers
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 953
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok - let's investigate this via email and I'll post the outcome here once I've taken a look.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
flyboy01



Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Newcastle Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,
The settings you changed in the server program were spot on and fixed the problem. The aircraft is now holding the commanded speed on all phases of flight. Thanks for your fabulous help and support. I would consider this as resolved, but you may want to post something here to explain Which settings you changed and how/what they affect. This is good knowledge base I think. Again my many thanks to you Mark, you have done a great job.
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jf



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Location: Miami, FL USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi :
I have been experiencing the same speed problem but I had not had the time to investigate it. I read this thread and I think it may be the solution. The problem is that the changes to the Server that Trevor refers to, are not published. Do they apply to all the installations. I also run 1.51

Thank you.

PS: I do not use Active Sky, nor Vatsim.
_________________
Jfuenmayor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 953
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trevor had a problem with the Server > Aircraft Details > N1 Calibrations

A couple of the numbers were too low causing the thrust to be limited.

In the \Sim-Avionics\Server\FSX-Sim-Avionics-B737.CFG
There are 3 numbers to increase :

[N1_CALIBRATIONS]
30_THR=1344
30_N1=301
40_THR=2752
40_N1=400
50_THR=4224
50_N1=500
60_THR=5888
60_N1=603
70_THR=7488
70_N1=698
80_THR=10344
80_N1=801
90_THR=16008
90_N1=901
100_THR=16068
100_N1=1003
110_THR=16128
110_N1=1099
MAX_THR=16384
MAX_N1=1112


Code:
*****************
*** Beta News ***
*****************

In the beta's currently being tested this section has been completely removed as an EEC simulation has been added to the Server.
When flying using manual throttles instead of directly controlling the thrust levers in FS the FSUIPC throttle axis are redirected to the EEC's.
You position your throttle lever to 50%, the Server then commands 50% N1 from the engines and handles the FS throttles in the background.
This means the Target N1 pointer on the N1 gauge will always be accurate.

_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group