Proper Power Supply

Dedicated to The Support of All Flightdeck Solutions, Ltd Products

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
B747-400
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:08 am
Location: Vienna / Austria
Contact:

Proper Power Supply

Post by B747-400 »

Hi,

I'm eagerly waiting for my 747-400 MIP etc. :D

I know that the IBL bulbs needs 5 V. Using the search feature, but could not find some infos about a proper PC power supply for all the IBLs.

My idea is, using an PC pwr. supply. Can you tell me how much Ampere the +5 V rails should deliver, or how much Watt the power supply should be capable to deliver to handle all the IBLs properly?

Thanks in advance and BR
Hans
Hans G. Schuetz
http://B747-400.net

OmniAtlas
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:07 am
Location: Australia

Re: Proper Power Supply

Post by OmniAtlas »

B747-400 wrote:Hi,

I'm eagerly waiting for my 747-400 MIP etc. :D

I know that the IBL bulbs needs 5 V. Using the search feature, but could not find some infos about a proper PC power supply for all the IBLs.

My idea is, using an PC pwr. supply. Can you tell me how much Ampere the +5 V rails should deliver, or how much Watt the power supply should be capable to deliver to handle all the IBLs properly?

Thanks in advance and BR
Hans
I am using a Corsair CX750 -- amps are important, in this case, my PSU max load is 25A.

You want to get the FDS dimming board, it does the job nicely and you can plug several IBL panels to one dimming board. If you need to expand it you can easily do so with the EXP board.

As Steve has explained to me, If your back light is drawing too much amps, you can just plug in an additional 5V+ (and neutral) to the same dimming board.

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Jetcos
Posts: 1273
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

See the links below:


http://ca.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mean ... EFMayJ0%3d

http://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en ... ND/4386542


Good quality power supplies. Dual voltage and easy to connect.

Make sure you have enough amperage and use large gauge wire on longer wire runs to eliminate the voltage drop from the resistance created by the wire. We use 10AWG wire to the OH from the CDU Bay. Dimming boards provide a 10 amp fuse so divide the IBL accordingly.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

B747-400
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:08 am
Location: Vienna / Austria
Contact:

Post by B747-400 »

Thanks Gents for your inputs, I'll check your links!

Steve: rgd. 10 amp fusing / dividing: when dividing, how much panels are possible at 10 amp? Or to ask in other words: how much amps do one panel use? Is there an average?

Need the infos to find out how to divide to avoid overloading above 10 amps because of too much IBL panels.

THX
Hans
Last edited by B747-400 on Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Hans G. Schuetz
http://B747-400.net

Jetcos
Posts: 1273
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

All panels have different amount of bulbs changing the amperage.

In a MIP and you use 2 Dimmers (Divided between CA and FO like the real aircraft) only 1 dimmer per side.

Pedestal I would use 1 Dimmer and 1 EXP board. (Covers the TQ panels as well)

Overhead I would use 1 Master and 1 EXP.

If you are adding the CB panels I would do 1 EXP per side.
(Total of 4 boards)
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

B747-400
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:08 am
Location: Vienna / Austria
Contact:

Post by B747-400 »

THX!
Hans G. Schuetz
http://B747-400.net

PatSim
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:29 pm
Location: KSAN

Post by PatSim »

With a DSTD, 2 CDU, 1 Navcom, 1 XPNDR & Throttle. (No overhead or Pedestal) I measured the following amperages.

Test Light Switch ON.
All LED under glareshield & IBL lights turned up to MAX

11.77vdc @ 3.7amps
4.93 vdc @ 6.6 amps

After I finish my Overhead and Pedestal I'll post new values.
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737, Full Shell, 3x82� 4K Samsung 7D OLED, 9900ks, 2080ti water cooled.
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, FDStoXP

OmniAtlas
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:07 am
Location: Australia

Post by OmniAtlas »

Jetcos wrote:All panels have different amount of bulbs changing the amperage.

In a MIP and you use 2 Dimmers (Divided between CA and FO like the real aircraft) only 1 dimmer per side.

Pedestal I would use 1 Dimmer and 1 EXP board. (Covers the TQ panels as well)

Overhead I would use 1 Master and 1 EXP.

If you are adding the CB panels I would do 1 EXP per side.
(Total of 4 boards)
Hi Steve,

I've noticed the backlight panels in my setup becoming dimmer -- I am currently using 1x FDS-IBL-DIST-DIM and 1x FDS-IBL-DIST-EXP for the MIP and Pedestal.

All of this is drawing from one 5v lead.

Could you recommend a setup for Airbus builders? As you know backlight for the integral lighting of the cockpit (besides the FCU) is controlled with the one dimmer on the pedestal.

Thank you,

Ben

Jetcos
Posts: 1273
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Hi Ben,

Computer Power Supply:

What I suggest is you use multiple RED wires (4-5) and an equal amount of black wires (4-5) from the power supply to power the 5VDC to the IBL. A single wire would not be able to handle the amperage required to run the back lighting.

5V Power Supply (Commercial Quality):

Make sure the wire you are using is a big enough gauge wire to supply the amperage required. We use 10 gauge wire on our 5VDC.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

OmniAtlas
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:07 am
Location: Australia

Post by OmniAtlas »

Jetcos wrote:Hi Ben,

5V Power Supply (Commercial Quality):

Make sure the wire you are using is a big enough gauge wire to supply the amperage required. We use 10 gauge wire on our 5VDC.
Thanks Steve, I will consider swapping over to the commercial quality power supplies you recommended and swapping to 10 gauge wire.

Regards,

Ben

KiwiBuilder
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:21 pm
Location: Auckland

Post by KiwiBuilder »

I've been looking at PSU to power MIP IBL and have noticed that the modular PSU wires are all black now!!! Grrrrr was easier when they were coloured!!
Steve could you please confirm that the MEAN WELL RS-150-5 series power supply unit is okay for IBL power... if it is I'll get one for MIP and one for OVERHEAD.

THANKYOU :D

http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/260/RS-150-SPEC-806251.pdf
KiwiBuilder NZ
Chris Durney

Jetcos
Posts: 1273
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Email sent
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

KiwiBuilder
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:21 pm
Location: Auckland

Post by KiwiBuilder »

Thank you Steve for your email.

I will order up the Delta Electronics unit for my IBL .


PMT-5V350W1AM

http://www.deltapsu.com/index.php?/prod ... -5V350W1AM
KiwiBuilder NZ
Chris Durney

Post Reply