Possibility to dim PFD and ND?

A forum for open discussions. Feel free to discuss any and all elements of Flightdeck Building. NB: This section is for individual builders to openly discuss issues that may or may not pertain to FDS. Organizations/Political Groups or Commercial Entities Will require approval prior to posting. Prior Approval From FDS required prior to posting items for sale. No Exceptions.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
Marco Eckl 777
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Belp | LSZB
Contact:

Possibility to dim PFD and ND?

Post by Marco Eckl 777 »

Hi guys,

just a curious question and might be an easy one, but is it possible to dim the PFD/ND,etc...?
Might be easy but i can't think of a way to do so.
Greetings
Marco Eckl | JetMax 777 SKTQ
FDS 777 Jetmax Flying since 06MAY2016
Sim-Avionics V1.85
FDS-777-MX-MCP
FDS-777-MX-Overhead
FDS-777-PRO-MX Pedestal
ACE 777 Proline Yoke
https://facebook.com/B777SSTDHomecockpit/
http://www.b777homecockpit.com

Jetcos
Posts: 1276
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Can be done using our FC1 Game controller connected to pots that are assigned in the SYSBoard Controller under Display Dimming..

Only thing missing is the actual panel where the pots are located. JetMax B777 does not have that panel.

*The Upper and Lower are not able to have pots installed due to the MFD display being below the panel.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

Marco Eckl 777
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Belp | LSZB
Contact:

Post by Marco Eckl 777 »

Ok, the FC1 would not be the problem i think.
But the actual panel to fit into the Jetmax would be tricky or not possible i suppose?
Or would there a possibility to produce that panel for the jetmax and fit it below the lower eicas?

Greetings
Marco Eckl | JetMax 777 SKTQ
FDS 777 Jetmax Flying since 06MAY2016
Sim-Avionics V1.85
FDS-777-MX-MCP
FDS-777-MX-Overhead
FDS-777-PRO-MX Pedestal
ACE 777 Proline Yoke
https://facebook.com/B777SSTDHomecockpit/
http://www.b777homecockpit.com

Mascot
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:42 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland

Post by Mascot »

Good day Marco,

I use two individual pots on a leo bodnar interface card. All mounted to the dimmer panel on my side console. Not sure about Boeing accuracy here, but it does the Job, especially for nightflying.

Once I settle in on my new config, I will probably rewire my backlighting, OH light and Map lights to the correct pots. But thats a project for the future...

Greetz Simon
Simon Schneider
JetMax 777 SKTQ
Sim Avionics 777

Marco Eckl 777
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Belp | LSZB
Contact:

Post by Marco Eckl 777 »

As in some things i have two left hands, i guess that would end in a total desaster!! :D
But i guess i would receive some help from you if needed ;-)

Cheers
Marco Eckl | JetMax 777 SKTQ
FDS 777 Jetmax Flying since 06MAY2016
Sim-Avionics V1.85
FDS-777-MX-MCP
FDS-777-MX-Overhead
FDS-777-PRO-MX Pedestal
ACE 777 Proline Yoke
https://facebook.com/B777SSTDHomecockpit/
http://www.b777homecockpit.com

Mascot
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:42 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland

Post by Mascot »

No worries Marco, a couple years ago I was in the same misery...

One afternoon in my workshop will take care of this, I am sure.

After all its just a pot wired to a standard IO card. Hook it up to your PC and you will be good to go!
Simon Schneider
JetMax 777 SKTQ
Sim Avionics 777

Post Reply