CUSTOMSIMPARTS BRAKE PRESSURE GAUGE (RESOLVED)

This section of the Sim-A Forum is for support issues.
Only a few Clear Rules Here:
1. No Rants. Rants will be deleted and the poster contacted. All focus here is to assist in the spreading of information to better assist all Sim-A users. Most of the people helping are not paid employees.
2. Be Polite. We want all Sim-A users to experience the fantastic elements that make Sim-A what it is. Being able to communicate here will allow the info to be the focus.
3. Time. We do not have someone on the Forum 24/7 so please allow members to jump in to help when needed.
4. Most important. This is not a "Issue" forum. If you feel there is an issue then please email support@sim-Avionics.com and Mark will review that. This is a commercial product and erroneous reports do harm.

Moderators: Jetcos, MarkHastings

Post Reply
Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

CUSTOMSIMPARTS BRAKE PRESSURE GAUGE (RESOLVED)

Post by Mac737 »

Hi Mark or anyone that can help,

I bought a Brake Pressure Gauge from Tom at Custpmparts yesterday and its very good. Fitted it to my FDS 737 DSTD no problem and powered up OK. However, can you please tell me how you connect it up so that it talks to Sim-Avionics (v.191) please?

I have ticked the "load phidgets" box in SYSBoard controller software to load Polulu phidgets, connected the Polulu via USB to my Sim-Avionics PC, loaded Maestro drivers etc. but the Gauge doesn't move as brake pressure changes. I guess that its not talking to Sim-Av?

Does the Polulu card have to connected to a sysboard card physically somewhere? Do you use FSUIPC to get them to talk to each other? How can i confirm that the Gauge and Sim-Av are talking?

I am guessing I am missing a critical step somewhere?

Many thanks and looking forward to your reply.

Jim
Last edited by Mac737 on Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Jetcos
Posts: 1267
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Hi Jim,

Enable the Plug-ins

For the Brake Pressure Gauge you need to select the Polulu card in the drop-down menu for that gauge and calibrate.

Save in the SYSBoard Controller and leave that Tab so it will work.

I tested those gauges here a few months ago and they worked fine.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

Post by Mac737 »

Thanks Steve for your great support.

Jsut some feedback becuase there has been surprisingly quite a few readers following this post.

Whilst I haven't quite got the Brake Gauge talking to Sim-Av yet or working, Mark Hastings has identified the potential problem (in Sim-Av) and will post a fix by the end of this week.

I am guessing that quite a few people are interested in adding this gauage to thier MIPS (?) so if it helps, I've added some info below.

I can highly recommend the seller Tom and the CustomSimParts Brake Gauge as it has the following qualities:

1. Cheap price, great service, rapid delivery
2. High quality
3. Looks great
4. Made to fit FDS MIP perfectly ..............easy to install, no cutting or modifying....use two screws, lines up perfectly.

Install Maestro drivers and software for Polulu card, connect USB, connect +5V to card, setup in Sim-AV SYSboard controller, enable plugins. That's it. Looking forward to watching it spin!

Jim
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

Post by Mac737 »

Hi Mark and Others,
Have you had a chance to troubleshoot/update Sim-Avionics for this problem yet?

I was also wondering if anyone else can help that has used Polulu cards with this or other gauges in the mean time?

Thanks,
Jim
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

Post by Mac737 »

Hi Mark,
Thanks for incorporating the Polulu fix in v.1.93.

Unfortunately something is not still quite right as the brake pressure gauge still doesn’t work.

I have pasted some info for your review and consideration in an email to you as this format doesn't allow easy pasting. I am hoping oyu may have some suggestions once oyu see my email??

Regards,
Jim
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

Post by Mac737 »

Hi Mark,
Hoped to see a fix for the Polulu card in v.1.931


:cry: :cry:

Jim
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

MarkHastings
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:08 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by MarkHastings »

I have no issue getting the card to work here...
I'll ask Steve if he has a card available and would have time to check it the next time he's in.
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

Post by Mac737 »

Thanks Mark/Steve.....

Really good to hear that it does work in your testing.......must be some minor setting that I haven't got quite right so I'll keep testing because I want to add the CustomSimParts flaps gauge as well, so I have to get it working.

I'll wait to see what Steve comes back with his testing as you suggested.

Regards,
Jim

.
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Mac737
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:36 am

CUSTOMSIMPARTS BRAKE PRESSURE GAUGE (RESOLVED)

Post by Mac737 »

Hi All,
Thanks to Mark and Steve, this issue has been resolved. The Brake Pressure Gauge now works perfectly!! :D :D :D

I thought this exercise was very useful and very informative because I am sure most of us want to add a Gauge here or there at some time.

So, this is what you will need and what I have learnt for adding Gauages with Pololu cards (I'll try to provide the help in a logical order):

1. I have a FDS DSTD MIP so the CustomSimParts Brake pressure gauge was the choice becuase it fits perfectly......... no mods, no plates or cutting required
2. You need a Pololu-Maestro card to connect gauge. You will also need a FDS R1X relay card as well.
3. READ ALL OF THE MAESTRO SOFTWARE MANUAL....no shortcuts sorry....Load Maestro drivers and software.....follow instructions to check drivers are loaded properly.
4. Connect +5V and ground to Pololu card for Servo power
6. Connect USB cable (mine goes straight to Sim-Av PC) >connect Gauge cable to Output on Polulu (NOTE THE OUTPUT NUMBER THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT LATER ON......They are numbered 0-5 on the Pololu i.e a total of six.....I'll come back to this. I USED OUTPUT #1
7.Enter Maestro Software.....leave ALL settings to default. Select Output where your gauge is connected....use slider and gauge will move.....it must work or you have done something wrong.

OK, you have proved that it all works.......now to get Sim-AV talking to it. You will need the soon-to-be released Sim-Av v.1.94 !

8. Connect R1X via USB (mine goes straight to Sim-Av PC)
9.Connect +5V that normally goes to Polulu to COM on R1X relay #1. Connect another wire to NO on relay and connect this to the Polulu card where you would normally have put the +5V wire. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT SO THAT THE GAUGE AND BACKGROUND LIGHT ARE OFF IN THE "COLD AND DARK" STATE!
10. Go to Sim-Av SYSBOARD software
11. Check box for enabling Plugins
12. Go to Gauges TAB.......select "brake pressure gauge" menu ....in the pulldown menu choose Pololu. Pull down menu for OUTPUT, choose output 2 (NOT 1 because in Sim-Av outputs are numbered 1-6....so Pololu Output #1 = Sim-Av Output# 2...............told you it was important!
13. Go to Output Assignments TAB.........select/assign "AC POWER BUS 1" (corresponds to your wires on R1X relay 1)
14, Go back to Gauges TAB.......use slider to check that gauge needle moves.....set MIN and MAX for gauge here
15. So, if you are successful, the gauge backlight should be OFF in the COLD and DARK state and backlight should be ON when you switch AC power on with your Overhead!!

When you power down after your flight is complete i.e. HYDRAULICS OFF, the brake pressure will go from about "3" down to "1" (NOT ZERO) as the hydraulic line remains pressurized. I am fairly sure this is the REAL situation.

TAKE A DEEP BREATH......and congratulate yourself!

Thanks again to Mark and Steve................I hope this helps!

Jim
FDS 737-800 FULL DSTD, FDS 2x O/H, FDS PEDESTAL, LINKED RUDDERS, 737 SHELL
P3D v5.0 HotFix 1
SIM-AV v.1.964
FSUIPC v.6.08
FSC LINKED YOKES
CFY MOTORIZED TQ (GOLD) v.3
3x OPTOMA 4K PROJECTORS & NATVIS 220deg DISPLAY
IPECO 737 CAPT & FO SEATS

Post Reply