Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Flying legs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:29 am    Post subject: Flying legs Reply with quote

Hi Guys
When I fly a leg, let's say Montreal- Boston, I park to the gate in Boston, hook up to ground power, shut off engines and switches off most items.
IRS stays on.
Just to make sure I flush all route data in the FMC.

Then I enter GPS pos and new route, perf etc to whatever. ...JFK, short hop. Check fuel and go through Flow and checks, Push, start, A/T arm.
Off to JFK
Route shows on the ND, pages on CDU ok but..
VNAV LNAV HDG ALT VS do not engage

MCP does not respond
Displays and rotaries work
Push buttons do'nt

If I switch PA on the aircraft banks and steers back to Boston

Something simple I miss when shutting down at the gate..??

Besides that, all systems work impeccably on the first leg.

Jack
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1158
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the FMA's

Did you cycle the Flight Directors?
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if I did...will check that.
Thanks Steve.
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Multiple legs do work fine here...mostly operated that way for WorldFlight.

In addition to cycling the F/Ds I also make a habit of disengaging/reengaging the MCP and flushing the runway approach frequency in the NAV from the previous flight (on occasion I have experienced APP mode being active on takeoff for whatever reason).

Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you both

did all that
clears the MFA
and works

Question: real procedure or SimA specific
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1158
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resetting the Flight Directors is real.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Sir
Tried yesterday CYYZ - Sault Sainte Marie - CYUL

Everything worked fine.
(Also N1 target set at 19.9 for Winter ops !)
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
N737AG



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 168
Location: Weston, FL, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also Jack : I do not know if it is company policy or not, but I have learned this from several pilots of different airlines : IRS's are turned off and re-aligned after each leg, except if above the limitation latitudes.
_________________
Axel Grau
Project : Boeing 737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah ?

Cant hurt anyway Wink
Willco
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
N737AG



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 168
Location: Weston, FL, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jack

The theory behind this, among others, is that the gyros can loose some little alignment in turbulence, and some more alignment during touchdown, braking and taxiing.. But again, this might just be company policy. Tonight i will check the manuals.
_________________
Axel Grau
Project : Boeing 737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 937
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure it's implemented in SimA as last position is id to GPS L
I may be wrong though, will see on next flight.
Interesting.
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omera60



Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Istanbul

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

N737AG wrote:
Also Jack : I do not know if it is company policy or not, but I have learned this from several pilots of different airlines : IRS's are turned off and re-aligned after each leg, except if above the limitation latitudes.


That is a company policy or sometimes left to the discretion of pilot flying as turn around times may not match with the alignment. This is especially true for low cost carriers. For example, Turkish Airlines requires its crews to reset it unless there is a delay etc where as Pegasus (Low Cost carrier in Turkey) does not dictate a realignment and rather encourages crews to align them on the first flight of the day.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group