Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rudder Trim Module Pegged at Stops

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:17 am    Post subject: Rudder Trim Module Pegged at Stops Reply with quote

My FDS Rudder Trim Module Indicator pegs against the Nose Left 15 stop anytime I move the Rudder Nose Knob in any direction. So the FDS Trim Controller: 1.0 seems to function just fine in Manual Mode and allows me to move the Pedestal Rudder indicator needle left & right when pulling the Rudder Trim Servo "mouse" bar. And the Setup functions properly. When I put the Controller into the 'Run Mode" the indicator needle moves properly to "zero" & the Rudder Trim EICAS/MFD display indicate 00.00... As soon as I try to move the Rudder Trim Knob Left or Right the Needle & Display starting moving towards -15.00 and jams there. The SYSBoard Controller show the RUDDER TRIM LEFT/RIGHT Buttons 17 & 18 toggling correctly. The only other strange indication is the SYSBoard Controller Detected Interface Plugins box shows a " Load Failed for: SA_PLUGIN_Phidgets.dll,,,,, Not sure what settings are incorrect as the hardware seems to respond.
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1208
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are running the module, you won't be running the Phidgets Plug-in in the SYSBoard Controller.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve
Thanks for the quick response. It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to get the Rudder Trim Knob to work with the Pointer Display. I’m not sure what you mean about the Phidgets Plug-In in the SysBoard Controller. My SYSBoard Controller shows a “Load Failed for: SA_PLUGIN_Phidgets.dll”.
The FDS RUDDER TRIM MODULE Instructions all work but there is no mention of any SYSBoard Plugin. If it sound like I’m clueless about this that’s because I am. Is there any documentation about getting the Trim Module to work with SYSBoard Phidgets Controller. I have no idea what to do.

Thanks
“In the Dark” Pat

ps: are you planing on 2019 Expo? I’m registered
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1208
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just run the module for now. The Phidgets Plug-in is something else right now. Leave it disabled.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I run the FDS Trim Module on the Flight Sim (P3D) Computer the Pedalstal Rudder Trim Needle Indicator Tracks all the way to the left -15 any time I try to use the Nose Left/Nose Right Knob.
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to mention that when I move the Elevator or Aileron Trim Switches for SA B738 in P3Dv4.3 the corresponding Control Trim Tabs move, EXCEPT for the Rudder Trim Surface.
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 893
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are assigning the Rudder trim button in the SYSBoard Controller (which you are) then you need to remove the FSUIPC offset in the IO file.
[FSUIPC_FLIGHT_CONTROLS]
RUDDER_TRIM_SWITCH=0 <- Set it to 0
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have confirmed in the SA Server FSUIPC I/O Interface tab that

[FSUIPC_FLIGHT_CONTROLS]
ELEVATOR_CPT=0
ELEVATOR_FO=0
AILERON_CPT=0
AILERON_FO=0
RUDDER_CPT=0
RUDDER_FO=0
THROTTLE_L=0
THROTTLE_R=0
THROTTLE_REVERSE_L=0
THROTTLE_REVERSE_R=0
SPOILERS=0
FLAPS=0
BRAKE_L_CPT=0
BRAKE_R_CPT=0
BRAKE_L_FO=0
BRAKE_R_FO=0
ELEVATOR_TRIM=0
AILERON_TRIM=0
RUDDER_TRIM=0
ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH=0
AILERON_TRIM_SWITCH=0
RUDDER_TRIM_SWITCH=0

Also the SYSBoard Controller Inputs 17 & 18 work for the Rudder Trim Knob. Also after starting the FDS Trim Controller 1.0 on the P3D F-Sim computer that the "Manual Mode" will properly move the Pedestal Rudder Trim Indicator. Also the Trim Calibration is done.
Every time I move the Rudder Trim Knob the FDS Trim Controller 1.0 and the Pedestal Trim Indicator start tracking towards the left until stuck at -15 or full left deflection. The only way to undo this is to reload Sim Avionics fully.
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PatSim



Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: KSAN

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Rudder Trim Module is still inoperative. Does anyone else have the same problem or a solution?
_________________
Pat
KSAN
DSTD-737,
X-Plane 11, B738 ZiboMod, ZHSI, “Duncan” script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1208
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried creating a new default flight? Maybe the rudder trim is set that way in the saved flight?

Check that all the settings are 0 for Rudder etc.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group