Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

leds and valve transit in the overhead with the sys1 card
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:38 pm    Post subject: leds and valve transit in the overhead with the sys1 card Reply with quote

hey anybodies.

i wonder how we will get the dull to bright annunciator effect when using the sys1 card. i also wonder if pm sys has a hand in it seeing that the bitmaps might change state in the process of a valve transit.
as there are two leds to an annunciator you could kill/brighten one for the change in state but the annunciator would be then lit unevenly to one side.

im stabbing in the dark here with a wet twig. its been on my mind for a while this.
any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2258

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:56 am    Post subject: Dual Level Reply with quote

We will have to look at this see what we can do.
First thing we need to do is understand how many instances of this exist across all the aircraft types.
If it is alot ( I doubt though) we would have to build something with software in mind.
My second reaction though is to use dual outputs. The output part of the cards is abundant so we could study a second output beng used for each "dual stage" Annun and provided added resistance to decrease the output level. This would achieve what is needed.
I will ask SteveW to jump in on this as he is starting to get into thte overhead area with panels, parts and interfacing on the NG. Bright guy and will likely come up with a few options.
I need to discuss the implications of this with Brent of course as it begins and ends there.
Thanks for the heads up on this Dave.
If anyone is aware of other examples now is a good time to mention.
PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SWeker



Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 221
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You nailed it Peter.

Before reading your entire post, I thought of the exact same solution you did, which is using 2 outputs. One for 100% brightness, another for 50% brightness. "In theory", you should be able to wire a resistor into the 50% brightness LED that would drop the brightness down to a desired level. I'll do the math when I have a chance, and let you know what wattage / ohm resistor to use. The only other catch will be PM Systems. Will have to do a quick check to see if there are two separate offsets or value for each brightness. If not, it'll get real tricky.

Cheers, Steve
_________________
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vidarf



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Narvik, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do it the KISS way: Use a third LED (very bright kind of thingy).

For instance, the VALVE OPEN (crossfeed) annunciator on the overhead:

The regular two LED's lights up, and stays lighted as long as the crossfeed is in progress.
The third LED is lighted for a specified duration to simulate valve opening/closing. I haven't played around with PMSystems yet (and do not have FDS software yet), but this could easily be done with logics.

Can I use the FDS software for self-made logics? If not, maybe this could be done in new versions? All you need is a timer option.

The LED could be mounted on the side of the annuciator (I have not seen the back of a completed overhead from FDS, so I don't know how much we have to play with here). To get increased illumination, you do not need to direct the LED on the annunciator label - just use very bright LED's.

This makes the setup very easy, do not involve resistors and can be done quickly.

At least, this is something someone could try for us? I do not have any annunciator parts lying around, so I am not able to do it myself for the time being.
_________________
My cockpit project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2258

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:50 pm    Post subject: LED Reply with quote

No need to complicate things with adding more LEDs.
Secondary output with Resistors, adding diodes to prevent any backloop through th ematrix and you are done. We will get some diagrams together when folks are at that point in wiring. Likely Steve will get there first.
PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vidarf



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Narvik, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgive me, Peter, but your outline actually seems to be the long road.

With an additional LED, you only need one wire from the SYS board to the LED.

If you follow Peter's approach, you will need:
-resistor (trial and error to find correct value)
- diodes on each connection line (to prevent the juice to go where you don't want it).

Of course, if there isn't any space or you don't want to drill another hole in your annunciator, Peter's approach will certainly work.
I don't like to complicate things more than I have to. And if you add more components to the setup, there is a (slightly) increased chance for failure.
I have worked with LED's and circuit board design, and a very good rule is to do things as easy as you can. Plus (and this is my stress point): More components will increase the price. Maybe not so much, but why waste money?

I will try this myself, and will post my results here.

Anyway, gentlemen: do as you please. Smile
_________________
My cockpit project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dual input.
ahhhh yeah.....what a good idea!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2258

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:31 am    Post subject: Dual Brightness on SYS Boards Reply with quote

Folks,
Here is the info required for Dual Brightness on the SYS boards.
Brent's wiring suggestion.
SteveW checked the reisistor value and is confident that it is ideal with our Super Bright LEDs.

The Wiring Diagram is here:



SteveW is suggesting these Offsets:

57AC .0 Eng1valDim
57AC .1 Eng1valBrite
57AC 1 EngVal1 /737 engine-/spar-valve for DIM/BRIGHT, 0 / 1 / 3 or 4 if MAX4 is set
57AD .0 Eng2valDim
57AD .1 Eng2valBrite
57AD 1 EngVal2
57AE .0 Spar1ValDim
57AE .1 Spar1ValBrite
57AE 1 SparVal1
57AF .0 Spar2ValDim
57AF .1 Spar2ValBrite
57AF 1 SparVal2
579C .0 Anti1WingIceDim
579C .1 Anti1WingIceBrite
579C 1 AntiI1
579D .0 Anti2WingIceDim
579D .1 Anti2WingIceBrite
579D 1 AntiI2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yeah! now thats what im talking about!
thanks a million!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SWeker



Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 221
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gents,

Here's a couple pics that show the difference in brightness. Works perfectly!

Bright


Dim

_________________
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevo...when i use "set value" or "bit" or whatever to input the value of whether the valve is dim or bright, what do i do with the little decimal?

just put it in mate?

happy st. patricks day!!(st.pissupbigtimeandspewovermyfrontverandawithyourtitsout .....day) Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SWeker



Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 221
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Dave.
Happy St. Patty's! I've had the boys upload all the overhead LED (output) xml files. All you need to do is download and go. Should be two files.....one for bright and one for dim. Give it a shot. Cheers, Steve
_________________
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 1010
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be it is a wrong idea and please let me know but as far as I see it there is no DIM state just regular brightness like all other annun and a BRIGHT state for transit. In which case the blue annun will be dimmer than the others if you apply a resistor...Is that right?..or wrong.
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah jack, resistors are the go.
one variable would be for the five second brightness, the other for the dim state....as you probably know already.

steve thanks for the xmls.....awesome mate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yunno how the sys cards dont like two earths joined together or a power lead from one group of eight connected the earth in a diff group of eight right?

could you do the above by attaching diodes (as in the picture) seeing that they are one-way thingys?

sounds like a silly question but i might save me some wiring.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group