Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sean Moraghan TripleHead2Go - Three Projector Setup
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Customer Project Updates
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
warvet



Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 1298

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx Joe,
Can always count on you my friend Smile

Tim
A340
Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Joe Cygan



Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

warvet wrote:
Thanx Joe,
Can always count on you my friend Smile

Tim
A340
Canada



Anytime Wink
_________________
JC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
747-400PILOT



Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Joe ,

So many differnt ideas to play with .
My aim is to be able to look out the side windows & see whats going on.

As I dont have any curved mirrors on hand & do have access to another 2 projects that I can borrow , I will try extending my side views with the TH2Go , just to satisfy my curiousity .
Then will look into a curved mirror concept .
Hmmm , might use the centre projector for the curved mirror & use the other 2 for extending the side views.

Sean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
warvet



Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 1298

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I say Sean if ya got the equipment then use it. Thatll make a hell of a nice display for ya fer sure. Good luck and send us piccys of it.

Tim
A340
Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
747-400PILOT



Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BE CAREFUL.

For anyone wishing to get a TH2Go unit , check compatibility with these links.

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/support/th2go/compatibility.php
List of cards

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/support/th2go/tool/home.php
Runs a program to see if your system ect is compatible.

I upgraded my whole system so that I could run the mega scenery smoothly.
This included a new PCI Express m/board CPU & vid card.
The card I got was a Geforce 7950GT , this didn't work . wasted money.

I also then went out & purchased another card that was on the list ,GeForce 7600 GT.
This didn't work , but system compatibility checked out. Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

Formatted & reloaded windows thinking driver issues from previous card install , this didn't work. Mad Mad

Pluged the old system in to check if matrox unit was functoning , this was ok .

Problem was that in my orginal set up I have a 20 mtr XVGA cable running from the PC to the TH2GO unit & it seems that my GeForce 7600 GT didn't like it , but would work on the AGP GeForce 6600GT .

Moved the TH2Go unit closer using a 1mtr cable & I'm back in business. Cool

Sean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Peter Nielsen



Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sean,
"quote"
I upgraded my whole system so that I could run the mega scenery smoothly.
This included a new PCI Express m/board CPU & vid card.
The card I got was a Geforce 7950GT , this didn't work . wasted money.
"unquote"

I have my TH2G in a box as my Geforce 6200 just does not cut it now a days. and was looking at a 7950GTX, but reading this makes me a bit worried. so perhaps one should go for the big dive a get a Geforce 8800GTX instead. any ideas though on compatibility backwords with this card running XP and fs2004 as I dotn have any wish to go to VISTA and FSX just yet..

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
747-400PILOT



Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Peter ,

Running the top end card would be they way to go , but expensive, so long as it is compatible.
I should have gone that way my self in the first place , but unknown to me I didn't realise the compatibility issue untill after the fact when I brought my 7950GT & was unable to return it to the store.
7950GT + 7600GT = almost price of the 8800GTX .

I am also running XP & FS2004 , using 7600GT .
Although I haven't reloaded my mega scenery to try this out yet .
It ran ok when I first loaded everything , before I formatted the drive to start over , cant see any issues when its all loaded again.

Sean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Peter Nielsen



Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sean,

What i dont understand is that the compatibility list of the TH2G lists the 7950 card as being ok.. and its a top end card (or was until last month) would be typical if the 8800 washes out as well..

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
747-400PILOT



Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Peter ,

it only lists the 7950GX2 , which is superior to the 7950GT

Sean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Steve_TO



Joined: 29 Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Toronto Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if Matrox adds cards to the list as time goes on? Reason being I have two BFG 7950 GT OC cards and was hoping to use TH2GO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
747-400PILOT



Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's possble I guess , I might contact them to ask , its all just a driver issue that I can see.

Sean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
dcutugno



Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you connect and use 2 3headtogo at the same time, using the second vga output on a video card?

So 1 video card and 6 monitors setups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Tomlin



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 1008

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im almost absolutely certain that only 1 TH2Go can work on 1 pc. Sorry!
_________________
Eric Tomlin
Learjet 45

Waycross, Ga (KAYS)
www.Hangar45.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
melnato



Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 1087
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure Eric? On a dual head video card, the card only thinks there
are two very large monitors connected. I'm ptrettty sure it will work, but performance willl be impacted...

Nat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
NicD



Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Location: Hobart, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TH2Go is not seen by the PC as a device at all. It emulates a single very wide display (such as 3072 x 764) so the PC think its just got one massive wide display connected. The box and the splitting of the display are completely unknown to the operating system.

Therefore I think 2 TH2GOs would be possible, but like Nat said, performance would be a concern. Connecting the 2 TH2GOs to 2 video cards would be better rather than a single video card with dual-head.
_________________
Nic - 737NG builder
http://worldflightoz737.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Customer Project Updates All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group