Sean Moraghan TripleHead2Go - Three Projector Setup

A showcase of Projects based around Flightdeck Solutions customers. FDS customers are welcome to post their work.
Please contact pcos@flightdecksolutions.com for photo updating and posting if you require assistance.

Moderator: Jetcos

warvet
Posts: 1298
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:23 am

Post by warvet »

Thanx Joe,
Can always count on you my friend :)

Tim
A340
Canada

Joe Cygan
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 2:23 pm
Location: Texas

Post by Joe Cygan »

warvet wrote:Thanx Joe,
Can always count on you my friend :)

Tim
A340
Canada

Anytime :wink:
JC

747-400PILOT
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

Post by 747-400PILOT »

Thanks Joe ,

So many differnt ideas to play with .
My aim is to be able to look out the side windows & see whats going on.

As I dont have any curved mirrors on hand & do have access to another 2 projects that I can borrow , I will try extending my side views with the TH2Go , just to satisfy my curiousity .
Then will look into a curved mirror concept .
Hmmm , might use the centre projector for the curved mirror & use the other 2 for extending the side views.

Sean

warvet
Posts: 1298
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:23 am

Post by warvet »

I say Sean if ya got the equipment then use it. Thatll make a hell of a nice display for ya fer sure. Good luck and send us piccys of it.

Tim
A340
Canada

747-400PILOT
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

Post by 747-400PILOT »

BE CAREFUL.

For anyone wishing to get a TH2Go unit , check compatibility with these links.

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/s ... bility.php
List of cards

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/s ... l/home.php
Runs a program to see if your system ect is compatible.

I upgraded my whole system so that I could run the mega scenery smoothly.
This included a new PCI Express m/board CPU & vid card.
The card I got was a Geforce 7950GT , this didn't work . wasted money.

I also then went out & purchased another card that was on the list ,GeForce 7600 GT.
This didn't work , but system compatibility checked out. :evil: :evil:

Formatted & reloaded windows thinking driver issues from previous card install , this didn't work. :x :x

Pluged the old system in to check if matrox unit was functoning , this was ok .

Problem was that in my orginal set up I have a 20 mtr XVGA cable running from the PC to the TH2GO unit & it seems that my GeForce 7600 GT didn't like it , but would work on the AGP GeForce 6600GT .

Moved the TH2Go unit closer using a 1mtr cable & I'm back in business. 8)

Sean

Peter Nielsen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:42 am
Location: Spain

Post by Peter Nielsen »

Sean,
"quote"
I upgraded my whole system so that I could run the mega scenery smoothly.
This included a new PCI Express m/board CPU & vid card.
The card I got was a Geforce 7950GT , this didn't work . wasted money.
"unquote"

I have my TH2G in a box as my Geforce 6200 just does not cut it now a days. and was looking at a 7950GTX, but reading this makes me a bit worried. so perhaps one should go for the big dive a get a Geforce 8800GTX instead. any ideas though on compatibility backwords with this card running XP and fs2004 as I dotn have any wish to go to VISTA and FSX just yet..

Peter

747-400PILOT
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

Post by 747-400PILOT »

Peter ,

Running the top end card would be they way to go , but expensive, so long as it is compatible.
I should have gone that way my self in the first place , but unknown to me I didn't realise the compatibility issue untill after the fact when I brought my 7950GT & was unable to return it to the store.
7950GT + 7600GT = almost price of the 8800GTX .

I am also running XP & FS2004 , using 7600GT .
Although I haven't reloaded my mega scenery to try this out yet .
It ran ok when I first loaded everything , before I formatted the drive to start over , cant see any issues when its all loaded again.

Sean

Peter Nielsen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:42 am
Location: Spain

Post by Peter Nielsen »

Sean,

What i dont understand is that the compatibility list of the TH2G lists the 7950 card as being ok.. and its a top end card (or was until last month) would be typical if the 8800 washes out as well..

Peter

747-400PILOT
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

Post by 747-400PILOT »

Hi Peter ,

it only lists the 7950GX2 , which is superior to the 7950GT

Sean

Steve_TO
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:27 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Post by Steve_TO »

I wonder if Matrox adds cards to the list as time goes on? Reason being I have two BFG 7950 GT OC cards and was hoping to use TH2GO.

747-400PILOT
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Auckland - New Zealand

Post by 747-400PILOT »

It's possble I guess , I might contact them to ask , its all just a driver issue that I can see.

Sean

dcutugno
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Italy

Post by dcutugno »

Can you connect and use 2 3headtogo at the same time, using the second vga output on a video card?

So 1 video card and 6 monitors setups.

Tomlin
Posts: 1008
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:37 pm
Contact:

Post by Tomlin »

Im almost absolutely certain that only 1 TH2Go can work on 1 pc. Sorry!
Eric Tomlin
Learjet 45

Waycross, Ga (KAYS)
www.Hangar45.net

melnato
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by melnato »

Are you sure Eric? On a dual head video card, the card only thinks there
are two very large monitors connected. I'm ptrettty sure it will work, but performance willl be impacted...

Nat

NicD
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:54 am
Location: Hobart, Australia
Contact:

Post by NicD »

The TH2Go is not seen by the PC as a device at all. It emulates a single very wide display (such as 3072 x 764) so the PC think its just got one massive wide display connected. The box and the splitting of the display are completely unknown to the operating system.

Therefore I think 2 TH2GOs would be possible, but like Nat said, performance would be a concern. Connecting the 2 TH2GOs to 2 video cards would be better rather than a single video card with dual-head.
Nic - 737NG builder
http://worldflightoz737.org/

Post Reply