A320 How many potentiometers?

This Forum is designed to support and assist in the use of any/all FDS related Interface products.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
barrykensett
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

A320 How many potentiometers?

Post by barrykensett »

I am trying to plan my interface requirements for my A320 sim and could do with some knowledge sharing on the potentiometer axes I need.
It seems clear that I need
Throttle 1
Throttle 2
Joystick X
Joystick Y
Joystick Z (Rudder)
Thats 5 axes.
The following can either be engineered for Pots or Switches but I am not yet sure what the software limitations are
Flaps
Airbrakes
Brakes (can proportional be implemented?)
Trim X
Trim Y
Trim Z
If they were all pots that means at least 11 axes
The FDS (and other make) interface boards seem to max on 8 axes.
Do I need two boards or am I looking at things the wrong way. What does everyone else do?
Barry

Suggy
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 8:24 am
Location: Hull, England
Contact:

Post by Suggy »

Hello, Barry.

Here is what pots I am using:

Pot #1 - Throttle 1
Pot #2 - Throttle 2
Pot #3 - Upper ECAM display (brighness)
Pot #4 - Lower ECAM display (brightness)
Pot #5 - Captain PFD brightness
Pot #6 - Captain ND brigtness
Pot #7 - FO PFD brighness
Pot #8 - FO ND brighness
Pot #9 - Brake
Pot #10 - Spoiler
Pot #11 - Flaps
Pot #12 - Trim (although not sure whether this actually works!)
Pot #13 - Tilt for radar (using SA WXR radar)

For the sidestick controller, I am using a cheap USB joystick with the A320 grip over the shaft of it (from ITRA although FDS sell tem also but requires finishing)

I am using a USB pedal from CHProducts.

Regards,

Darren Sugden

P.S. Hope to see you next Saturday!

:-)

Suggy
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 8:24 am
Location: Hull, England
Contact:

Post by Suggy »

...I forgot:
Pot #14: Tiller

Post Reply