Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

InterfaceIT - Offset Help Request

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:12 pm    Post subject: InterfaceIT - Offset Help Request Reply with quote

Can someone help me on this issue? I need someone who has programmed their FDS-SYS switches, without using the preloaded PM XML files for a 737. My flight simulator is NOT a commercial aircraft, AND I'm not using Project Magenta.

The problem I'm having is trying to find the correct offset to use for starting up the engines of my jet. I've tried the following with no success:

Description: ENG2 Starter switch pos
Offset: 092A
Type: Word
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 16

Description: ENG2 Starter switch pos
Offset: 092A
Type: Word
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 4

Description: ENG2 Starter switch pos
Offset: 092A
Type: Word
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 2

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I looked at the extended list of FS2004 controls, and setup the next example but no luck either. (I converted the decimal to Hex, thats how I came up with the offset value.)

Description: TOGGLE_STARTER1
Offset: 102FC
Type: Word
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 1
---------------------------------------------------------------

Also, my flight simulator has two Generator switches, so as I programmed them, I noticed they would cause the engines to spool up, and stay spooled (never igniting).


Description: ENG1 General Generator Switch
Offset: 3B78
Type: LongWord
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 1

Evidently, that is not a General generator switch, in the sense I am understanding it to be. Smile

---------------------------------------------------------------

My pitot Heat, Landing Lights, and other basic switches work fine. Here is a sample of how I set them up:

Description: Pitot heat <--- Turns pitot heat on.
Offset: 029C
Type: Smallint
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 1

Description: Pitot heat <--- Turns pitot heat off.
Offset: 029C
Type: Smallint
Operation: clear bit
Bit Value: 0

Description: Landing Lights <--- Turns Landing Lights on.
Offset: 028C
Type: Word
Operation: Toggle Bit
Bit Value: 1

Description: Landing Lights <--- Turns Landing Lights off.
Offset: 028C
Type: Word
Operation: clear bit
Bit Value: 0

This same method works fine for master battery as well.
But if anyone has any experience programming their own switches to start up a jet engine I would really like to hear from you. Take a look at my weblink below to see the flight sim. It is a full motion light attack fighter. Smile

Thanks for your feedback.
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where you get those values from? PMsystems?

In the docs of FSUIPC stay to use this for ENG2

offset: 092A
type : byte
size: 2
value : 0=Off, 1=Start, 2=Gen

where is that WORD and 16 comming from?

gr.

Frans M
frans@flightdecksolutions.com
_________________
Frans M
www.airbus320.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not using PM......

The value comes from the example in the InterfaceIT manual V2 (page 16). Bit values into Offset values.

0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ...etc
1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128 ...etc

It sounds like I'm looking at the wrong manual. I'll see what I can find in the FSUIPC manual.
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you "toggle bit" etc...it relates to one position of a switch/command directly.

eg...a magneto may have three positions. off,start and gen..for example.
off equals 0....start equals 1 and gen equals 2. therefore that is three commands in total for the magneto offset of 092a. so the value to toggle bit must be either of these. 16 means that it may be the 16th position available for one offset/switch....not right for magnetos.

interfaceit cards work very well with both fsuipc and pm sys inputs. pm sys has been designed to perform aircraft specific tasks therefore it has the upper hand...where fsuipc is simply a list of many offsets that makes fs operate.

when using interfaceit and fsuipc only....you have to sort through the fsuipc offsets yourself and decide what you will use. sometimes the descriptions arent that acurate (detailed) for what the user requires that offset to perform. (a lot of guys use "decrease throttle assignment" for their reverser handles etc) this can be hard to work out.

i believe the mutli task commands in fs such as engine start may be made up of multiple offsets...so looking for a single offset in the fsuipc list may not provide the answer. eg...the engine start assignment that you are looking for....may be made up of a many offsets....the sequence may require the magneto to be set to start then the combustion flag needs to be monitored then the magneto offset needs to be set to "both" or "gen".

looking through the list of offsets provided in the pdf can be overwhelming and not provide the answer. if you have no luck inputting engine start offsets into interfaceit...an option is to use assignments in fs or joystick button/keystroke signals in fsuipc ...try both of these via joystick buttons(i leave the button on the joystick pcb and just solder two wires to the button legs where they poke through the rear of the board). fs has engine starter 1,2,3,4 in the assignments page for example. a lot of guys dive into the offsets pdfs not realising that its all in the drop down menus. thats why microsoft made the assignments menu and why pete dowson made fsuipc.

you might know/think that your starter switch is a simple fs command....but it will work exactly as it does in real life. and thats what counts.

good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh!...toggle bit is usually only an off/on thing.

set bit is to set the switch position..ie 0,1,2.

(from memory)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, so if an FS command has 3 offset options (ie: off, start, Gen), how would that be handle by 3 different switches?

For example, in order to start the Turbomecha turbofan engines on my jet, the normal start sequence is below, each one a toggle switche, except for step 6 witch is a push-button.

1. Battery
2. Engine 1 Generator
3. Engine 1 Boost Pump (fuel Pump)
4. Engine 1 Fuel Open (fuel on)
5. Engine 1 switch in start position
6. Push Engine 1 ignition button until 24,000 RPMs and engine ignites
(repeat steps 2-6 for right engine)

I found the battery offset and that works like a charm, the other switches is what I'm having trouble locate. I have the basics working fine like Pitot Heat, Landing lights, Nav lights, Flaps, Landing Gear, etc. But just havent found the right offsets for fuel, generators and engine start. Sad
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm able to get Gen1 and Gen 2 turned on, I can also spool up # 1 engine, but am not having any luck using offset 092A for the other engine.

I also wanted to know if someone had the offset for the two fuel on/off switches located on the throttle quad of the 737/777?

Offset 3104 is for fuel pump, which works fine. But I can't find the offset for the fuel on/off for each engine.

Offset 033A is for tank select / crossfeed, it doesn't effect the fuel on/off states of the two switches on the throttle quads.

Anyone have the offset for the fuel on/off for engie 1 and engine 2? Thanks!
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jon Boe



Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Centennial, Colorado USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My SYS boards are in boxes at the moment since I'm rebuilding stuff...

However, for FSUIPC try
3590 for engine 1 and 3594 for engine 2. 1= open, 2=closed.

I can't test to verify per the above but it's worth a shot.

Cheers,

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Jon, great info! I installed the FSUIPC SDK and found the offsets:

0000:3590, "Engine 1 Fuel Valve [FS2002+]", "U32", 4 bytes
Usage: BOOLEAN (1 = open, 0 = closed)

0000:3594, "Engine 2 Fuel Valve [FS2002+]", "U32", 4 bytes
Usage: BOOLEAN (1 = open, 0 = closed]

I'm having difficulties trying to get that working in InterfaceIT. Any suggestions? I've tried each data type (Byte, Word, LongInt, etc.) and nothing seems to work. Any further ideas? I'm not sure how I would get it working in FSUIPC without going through InterfaceIT software.
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jon Boe



Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Centennial, Colorado USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bummer!

I know that they work using the SYS series boards because I've programmed them as XML files and tried them in my 744. However, as I indicated, my stuff is boxed at the moment so I can't pull up anything and provide assistance
;--(

I assume you are using the SYS board documentation for programming offsets using FSUIPC? Probably obvious...

Cheers,

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jon,
Yes, I'm using InterfaceIT software to program the XML that gets sent to FSUIPC. I'm sure that these are the correct Offsets, but I just haven't figured out the correct syntax to get them working in FS2004. I really appreciate your feedback and assistance though!


I'm going to keep messing with them tonight, it's only a matter of time before I hit the right combination and get them working. Smile
- Ron
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tested some things here for you...

Example

wire switch 1
select : FSUIPC ==> Action UP/ON
Discription: ENG1 START
offset= 0892
Type=Byte
Value= 1 (start)

select: FSUIPC ==>Action DOWN/OFF
Discription: ENG1 OFF
offset 0892
type=Byte
Value= 0(off)

wire switch 2:
Select :FSUIPC ==> Action UP/ON
Discription : ENG1 GEN
offset =0892
type = Byte
Value =2 (GEN)

Do the same with ENG2 only change offset into : 092A

This will change the selector from OFF /GEN/START

gr.

Frans M
frans@flightdecksolutions.com
_________________
Frans M
www.airbus320.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alphajetsim



Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arlington, Washington

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! Thank you! I will give this a try tonight!
_________________
AlphaJet - Light Attack Fighter Simulator
http://home.comcast.net/~bimmer4011/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group