Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SYS Board Basic Wiring/InterfaceIT For Dummies Questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cdjung1



Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:48 am    Post subject: SYS Board Basic Wiring/InterfaceIT For Dummies Questions Reply with quote

Hello all,

I am in the process of wiring up my overhead to the SYS1 board and have some basic wiring questions that I was hoping some of you experienced guys could help with.

1) I have read that when connecting the switches to the supplied wire bundles that some of you have used a "heat shrink tube" in order to seal the joint. I did some research and got an email back from a supplier warning me that using shrink wrap on such small wire might be problematic. What have you found to be a good solution to this… Good old electrical tape is always an option but I thought there was probably a better approach.

2) In the InterfaceIT software I was wondering if there was a way to easily reverse polarity/function without having to rewire. For example, I downloaded the Window Heat On variable and when I installed it everything functioned perfectly except the on position was the off position. I assume that there is an easy way to flip the function around, but it isn't clear to me how.

3) Good source for wire? I went to Radio Shack to find some electrical wire to extend the supplied wire bundles and to bridge the ground connections and the only gage they carred was too big. Any suggestions for suppliers? (Also, what is the wire gage of the supplied wire bundles, my wire stippers shows it at 18 but I'm not sure)

4) For the rotary switches, the center pin is the ground, but there are sets of paired poles on the outside radius of the rotary switch. Do I wire a red "input" to each of those, or only one per pair?

Thanks in advance for the assistance!

Sincerely,
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Chris,

1) after you solder the wire you could use the shrink part. I assume for each type of wire there is a type to use. Otherwise like you mention tape could also do the trick.

2)Just turn arround the OFF/DOWN and ON/UP in the interfaceIT software assignment.

3)Not sure each county have his own shops local source would be best maybe otherwise have a look to online stores on the net that are specialist in this.

4)You need to wire each pin that would have a function. So if it have 3 funtions you wire 3 pins that correspondent with the correct setting of the knob. If you look on the selector you will see numbers standing.

gr.

Frans M
frans@flightdecksolutions.com
_________________
Frans M
www.airbus320.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cdjung1



Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frans,

I'm not sure what you mean by "just turn around the Off/Down On/Up" setting. I imported the function definition and it sets those functions, but I don't see an option for reversing function. I'm sure it is something that is probably obvious.

WRT the rotary switch, there are pairs of poles on the outside, if I understand you correctly each pole is a separate switch. Is that right?

Thanks!

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris,

In the interface software you have when you click on the switch the function showed in right screen. Not sure what the offset ect is but i assum you will see something of value standing there. any option to change that from 1 to 0 or 0 to 1?

the pins are for each turn that is correct.

gr.

Frans M
frans@flightdecksolutions.com
_________________
Frans M
www.airbus320.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vidarf



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Narvik, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gents, let me just point you to a product that is better than sliced bread:

Liquid tape!

This is a non-conductive plastic paint that is GREAT for sealing off the solder slobs at the back of an annunciator or switch. Smile
_________________
My cockpit project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brissydave



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 536
Location: australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heat shrink.....it works perfect and is quick as. tape is a pain in the rear end...we all love tape.....but its not as good and takes too long. bung the shrink wrap on on wire away from join.....solder two wires.....push the shrink wrap over the solder bit....use a lighter to shrink it in a second...all good.

as far as switches go you can reverse the action like franz said by using the "ON ACTION IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE OFF OFFSET"... if ya know what i mean.


best just to wire the switches right.....eg..the switch is flipped to the left which means the active pin at the back of the switch will be the opposite or right hand.

righto....ask for "hookup wire"..."speaker wire"..ect .12mm stuff real light.
100 meter roll for around $25 aus...its like.. the smallest guage you can get down the shop probably.

4) For the rotary switches, the center pin is the ground, but there are sets of paired poles on the outside radius of the rotary switch. Do I wire a red "input" to each of those, or only one per pair?

id say you are right...just gotta give it a go....you read so much here..but its what works for you and your switches.

its so hard and huge..but when its done...you'll be a master...its really easy.
100% trial and error.

..get some tunes pumping outa those big "engine sound" woofers and get on a roll wiring switches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vidarf



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Narvik, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As both Peter and I have said numerous times: Buy an multimeter! On mine (Fluke 179), I have a function that make the thing beep when there is contact between the two probes. In other words: turn on the switch and use the probes to find the correct pins. This method requires no thinking at all - you don't have to remember which way the switch goes, and then reverse it at the back. Smile
_________________
My cockpit project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group