Overhead APU-switch

This Forum is designed to support and assist in the use of any/all FDS related Interface products.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
Ivar Hestnes
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Flemma, Norway

Overhead APU-switch

Post by Ivar Hestnes »

I have a couple of questions about the APU off-on-start switch.

What kind of switch should it be? I have a ON-OFF-(ON) switch. Can I use this one? When looking at the XML-files for download there is 3 XML`s:

APU start OFF
APU start ON
APU start START

Does this mean that I use either the OFF or ON XML from what kind of switch I have?

Or does this have to be an ON-ON-(ON) switch?

Hope you guys understand my question here :)

lkirgan
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Contact:

Post by lkirgan »

If I remember right, it's a momentary "ON" for the start portion, "ON" for the on portion and "OFF" for the off position.
Lyle Kirgan
B737NG SSTD

Ivar Hestnes
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Flemma, Norway

Post by Ivar Hestnes »

That sound logical to me :)

But why are there an XML-file for the OFF position then? Thats what I cant understand. XML-file for a position that is not interfaced.

:?

lkirgan
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Contact:

Post by lkirgan »

I don't have an overhead setup at the moment. Maby somethat does and is using the xlm file will be able to help. But what you said sounds right too. If the the APU has not be started and left in the run postion then the software must assume that it is off. Sorry I can't help you more till I get to that point my self.
Lyle Kirgan
B737NG SSTD

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Ivar, you'll find an ON-OFF-(ON) switch at ELFA (brackets means momentary action). Thus, when the actual switch is OFF, the APU is ON. When you turn the switch to ON, you turn the APU OFF.

Said in other words:

To turn off the APU, set the switch to ON
To start the APU, move the switch to (ON) and release.

If no switches are ON for the APU, then it must be ON (here's where it gets hard...).

I don't know whether you'll need the XML file for the ON position with such a switch, but there is many types of switches...

Ivar Hestnes
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Flemma, Norway

Post by Ivar Hestnes »

Thats exactly the switch I have Vidar. From ELFA also :)

And I understand the logic here, just a little bit hang up because there is 3 XML files. But I guess it is because there is a lot of switch-types and I need to use only two of the XML.

This is the logic as I understand it

Switch ON = APU off = XML APU start off
Switch OFF = APU on = No XML needed
SWitch (ON) = APU start = XML APU start start

Or does this function need an ON-ON-(ON) switch for the function to work properly? And use of all three XML-files?

Nobody has wired this yet?

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Bingo!

Post by pcos »

Bingo. you got it Ivar..
Different variations of toggles require different approaches for the xmls..
three pos toggles only need two XMLs as a rule. The SYS software understand that if the toggle is not in one of the two it MUST be in the third..
PC

Ivar Hestnes
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Flemma, Norway

Post by Ivar Hestnes »

Thank you for clarifying this PC :D

Then I can sleep well tonight, after soldering some wires :lol:

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Yeah, soldering fumes can make you sleepy... :D

Post Reply