Interfacing my overhead

This Forum is designed to support and assist in the use of any/all FDS related Interface products.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Interfacing my overhead

Post by vidarf »

Here's the latest weeks work:
http://www.fagerjord.org/cockpit/index. ... g_oh#siste
The SYS card are a dream come true! MAN, it is easy to wire up the overhead!

The only thing I've discovered (I was warned about it by Mr. Ivar Hestnes, but forgot it...) is that the blue LED's (which needs more juice) don't light up that much.

Do someone know how the scanning matrix works? Which outputs is on at the same time? That would make things easier.

Peter, do you think you could ask the guys at texworks about this and report back?

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Super Bright LEDs

Post by pcos »

WE have discussed this with builders.
With a matrix you have devices on a "string" or circuit.
If you load Super bright LEDs on the same string with Regular you will effectively pull power away from the Super brights.
With an Overhead we have Blue Super brights typcially.
Our Assembly specialist uses one dedicated pin number for Blue.
Pin 8 for example, or pin 8 and 7.. He keeps one or two pins for the different devices.
The regular LEDs are all so close in spec that you do not see any issues.
Brent is looking into ways to matrix and steer away from power issues but until that is something that is easily done we should try to keep devices to themselves. Most folks with a SYS card are usually with more than enough LED outputs that having a dedicated line is possible.
To recap.. No defficiency issue on the SYS boards and power/output..
Device "managing" is important.
If you drew a circuit with these devices you would end up with less voltage on the Supers..
I hope that makes sense..
PC

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Thanks for that clarification, Peter. :)
The reason why I asked was that if the matrix scanning was divided into groups, I could avoid a lot of work. But - better to suck it up and rewire.

Post Reply