Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

2 FDS PRO-MX MCDU on same pc? (Yes! Resolved)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dcutugno



Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:56 pm    Post subject: 2 FDS PRO-MX MCDU on same pc? (Yes! Resolved) Reply with quote

Hi, can we connect and run correctly two MCDU on the same PC as most videocard have dual output?

I use AST if it's relevant to that, but i think this can be true also for the new 737 CDU, anyone have tried?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1212
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running 2 CDU's with Sim-A with no problems. Both CDU's show up in teh FDS-CDU software and are assigned as Captain and F/O.

We even run 3 in the B777 but run out of video outputs so run it off a smaller simple PC thru the network.

You need to check with AST but the new FMGC I think needs to run each MCDU separately on their own PC's.
FDS CDUs are certainly capable, truly depends on the Avionics Software Architecture.
SC
_________________
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mmaessen



Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got some problems with two FDS-B777-PRO-MX-CDU attached to one PC.
When only using one single CDU everything is just fine. Problems occur when using (that is: plugging in) 2 CDU at the same time. It looks as if the FDS-CDU driver (tekworx) is confused somehow.

I am not sure about my configuration: I am using Sim-A version 1.182 and FDS-CDU version 3.0.14. After boot, I start WideClient by means of a shortcut in the STARTUP folder. WideClient is starting the Sim-A CDU software via the "RUN1=" parameter. In the CDU.INI file I have set the START_STOP_FDS_CDU_MODULE to 1. This is running just fine.

Now I attach the second CDU. I have copied the Sim-A CDU folder to a new folder, called CDU2. In the CDU.INI file I have adjusted the POSITION the setting from CPT to FO. The "RUN2=" parameter in WideClient is set to run this second instance. So my WideClient.INI shows:
RUN1=c:\Sim-Avionics\CDU\CDU.EXE
RUN2=c:\Sim-Avionics\CDU2\CDU.EXE

Is this the correct way to configure this?

When I only plug 1 ONE CDU, nomatter CPT or FO, everything is just fine. CDU is working, nice picture on the correct display.
When plugging in 2 CDU at the same time however, a strange behaviour occurs. Sometimes the FDS-CDU driver is not responding anymore, sometimes only the first CDU is operational, sometimes only the second one, sometimes none of them. This behaviour changes each time.

Suggestions are very welcome.

Gr.
Math
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1212
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Assign each CDU in FDS-CDU software. (Same PC)
2) CDU INI change to Start Automatically=1
3) Start the Captain's CDU
4) Start the FO CDU (Do not change the ini file for Auto Start)


If the FO CDU starts first it may not be connecting. Add a delay or create a Batch File to start the CDU Software?

We run dual CDU's here all the time. Works great. Mark has done a great job with the CDU's

Steve
_________________
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mmaessen



Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve,

Thanks for your advice. I think I am on the road again. Very Happy
For everyone's information, this is what I did to get it running.

In CONFIG.INI in the SimA CDU folder, set POSITION=CPT and START_STOP_FDS_CDU_MODULE=1.
Then I copied the complete CDU folder to a new CDU2 folder for the second CDU. In this new folder, edit the CONFIG.INI file, set POSITION=FO and START_STOP_FDS_CDU_MODULE=0.

Now edit WIDECLIENT.INI. In the [user] section I have these settings:
[user]
Run1=c:\Sim-Avionics\CDU\CDU.EXE
Delay1=5
Run2=c:\Sim-Avionics\CDU2\CDU.EXE
Delay2=1
Close1=Yes
Close2=Yes

Put a shortcut to WIDECLIENT.EXE in the startmenu STARTUP folder.

Start the CDU driver by running FDS-CDU.EXE. Configure it for both captain and first officer use, according the manual.
Also set the LOAD DELAY setting to 3 (seconds).
I am not sure about this setting, but if I leave this setting to 0 (default), the driver often is not responding after boot, although it is loaded.

Reboot the system and everything is just fine.
This configuration seems to work stable for me.

Regards,
Math
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 897
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Math,

Glad you got it working, that's how I normally get them started.

Only the first .ini should contain START_STOP_FDS_CDU_MODULE=1

And I find that a short delay is required before starting the second CDU or the driver sometimes gets confused.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
melnato



Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 1087
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent to hear.

I use a VBScript to start up modules...could've used Wideclient...nice too know.

Thanks!

Nat
_________________
www.natvis.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group