Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SYS Card Wiring help request (Resolved)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS - Interface Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Luisg

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:44 pm    Post subject: SYS Card Wiring help request (Resolved) Reply with quote

I purchased the SYS1X and I am trying to wire my overhead panel. This is my first project, so all the help with be much appreciated.

I have read the manual and it mentions purple wire/blue wire for switches/rotaries and Red/Black for LEDS.

So I can understand it better, the purple wires goes connected to the center or the blue wire? I have 8 purple and 1 blue.

As for the LED's, the cables I received are 8 white and 1 black. Do i just do the same even though they are different colors as stated in the manual?

Luis
Fred

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The color of the wires do not really matter. However it is best to be consistent (i.e., use the same color) for LEDs and switches respectively. This is to avoid plugging an LED wiring harness into a switch header receptacle and vice versa. That is the main thing you want to be careful about. With all those wires it is easy to get them confused! The odd (single) color wire in each harness is for the "common" wiring lead.

Yes...In an ON-OFF-ON kind of switch the common wire is connected to the center pole (in your case it is the blue wire which gets daisy-chained with the other switches in that group). For a simple ON-OFF switch it does not matter since you can invert the on/off state via the software, but it is best to install and wire your switches consistently to maintain your sanity!