Sim-A Compatibility

This section of the Sim-A Forum is for support issues.
Only a few Clear Rules Here:
1. No Rants. Rants will be deleted and the poster contacted. All focus here is to assist in the spreading of information to better assist all Sim-A users. Most of the people helping are not paid employees.
2. Be Polite. We want all Sim-A users to experience the fantastic elements that make Sim-A what it is. Being able to communicate here will allow the info to be the focus.
3. Time. We do not have someone on the Forum 24/7 so please allow members to jump in to help when needed.
4. Most important. This is not a "Issue" forum. If you feel there is an issue then please email support@sim-Avionics.com and Mark will review that. This is a commercial product and erroneous reports do harm.

Moderators: Jetcos, MarkHastings

Post Reply
sacrayton
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:59 pm

Sim-A Compatibility

Post by sacrayton »

Reading release notes and presentation of the new 737Max Sim-A software, if I understand correctly, any hardware peripherals that can connect to the flight simulator (P3Dv4) via FSUIPC, is compatible with Sim-A. As an example: Sim-A makes no note regarding the center pedestal gauges. COM/NAV, Transponder, WX Radar, etc. If I were to build a center pedestal with I/O cards that can communicate with P3Dv4 via FSUIPC, everything should work? And I assume that the same would be for TQ, FWD and AFT OVHD as well. Just pulling straws here.


Stephen
:?:

MarkHastings
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:08 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by MarkHastings »

Hi

Yes you are able to assign FSUIPC offsets to input/output functions in the Server.
The assignments are held in \Server\FSUIPC_IO.ini (Also editable via the FSUIPC I/O Interface tab on the Server)

For example in the IO file you would assign any spare offsets to functions :
[FSUIPC_INPUTS]
FUEL_PUMP_LEFT_FWD_SWITCH=5300
TCAS_MODE_SWITCH=5301

The FSUIPC inputs must be enabled via the checkbox on the Server Control Panel Tab.

The Server will then monitor the values in the assigned offsets.
So if the value in x5300 = 1 the Fuel pump will switch ON

The Radios and XPNDR freqs can be interfaced with P3D in the usual way. Nothing special is required there.
Just a few additional functions - like the TCAS Mode etc.

Outputs are assigned in a similar way :
[FSUIPC_OUTPUTS]
OH_FUEL_PUMP_LEFT_FWD=5925
OH_FUEL_PUMP_LEFT_AFT=5926b0

The Server would populate the assigned offset with a 1 or 0 for the annunciator and "your" software would monitor the value and set the light accordingly.
Note : you can assign full offsets or particular bits in the offset to a function.
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics

sacrayton
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:59 pm

Post by sacrayton »

Mark,

Thank you very much for the reply. I look forward to further guidance from you and the FDS team.


Regards,

Stephen

Post Reply