Flight Controls Unresponsive in P3D (Resolved)

Dedicated to The Support of All Flightdeck Solutions, Ltd Products

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
CAWILCO
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Flight Controls Unresponsive in P3D (Resolved)

Post by CAWILCO »

Good Evening Fellow Simmers,

I’m having an interesting problem with my flight controls such as the yoke, throttle quadrant and rudder pedals.

The yoke, rudder pedals and throttle quadrant are all being recognized in the “Joysticks Control Panel� for Windows 10 and the inputs are being recognized when I move the controls.

The controls aren’t being recognized by P3D/Sim Avionics.

These are the troubleshooting steps I have taken thus far:
-Plugged each USB directly into the computer
-Checked USB settings on windows

I have also looked on the FDS forums but have yet to find any solutions.


I did a flight about a week ago and everything was working fine. I have not made any software changes or removed any hardware.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Austin
Last edited by CAWILCO on Fri Mar 13, 2020 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Any W10 update ?
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

CAWILCO
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post by CAWILCO »

No recent Windows 10 updates. I thought that may have been the issue too. I even uninstalled the most recent Windows 10 update which was installed about a month ago. The issue didn't start until about a week or so ago.

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 738
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Are you using
FSUIPC
P3D
of something else for your Flight Controls?
SSTD 737
Sim-Avionics v1.96
P3D 4.5/5.0 HF1
FSUIPC 6.0.8

CAWILCO
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post by CAWILCO »

Yes, Michael I’m using FSUIPC. I just find it quite puzzling because all controls were just working about a week ago during my last flight. I didn’t make any changes to any settings/hardware.

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2286
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Post by pcos »

First focus...
Based on logic guys...
IF...
Sim-Avionics was not changed.
P3D was not changed.
FSUIPC not changed.
Leaves one major entity that needs to be looked at first. Windows...
We all know how many hours of time we spend chasing things to find out later that a Windows update was involved.
That really needs to be ruled out entirely before we are in here wanting a "Deep Dive" into Avionics software.
Not a shocker to see this being the issue a great deal of the time.
Such is Windows and their goals. 99.9% of their users never see a difference.
Here, that is not the case.
Peter
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

CAWILCO
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post by CAWILCO »

Peter,

I'm going to spend today diving deeper into the Windows settings. I will start with my P3D computer and then ill report back.


I just find it weird that the controls are being recognized by Windows and show input when devices are moved, its just once in P3D the controls have no effect.


Thanks all for the help.

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2286
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Post by pcos »

____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 738
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Austin

You need to go to FSUIPC and check that your axis are responding there.
Checking your joystick in windows only confirms that joystick is installed and calibrated in WINDOWS.

FSUIPC is where joystick axis are assigned and calibrated to P3D so they will work in Flight Sim

Almost guarantee that your USB settings have been altered and FSUIPC doesn't recognise them any more.

Michael
SSTD 737
Sim-Avionics v1.96
P3D 4.5/5.0 HF1
FSUIPC 6.0.8

CAWILCO
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

**RESOLVED** AND BRIEF RESOLUTION

Post by CAWILCO »

*ISSUE RESOLVED*

The issue has been resolved after re assigning and re calibrating flight controls in FSUIPC.

In short for those who may experience this issue in the future (and I'd imagine many of us will)

Even though I have Windows updates disabled, Windows still forces "Critical" updates upon us users. One of these updates somehow removed all of my pre-assigned axis for my flight controls from my FSUIPC.ini file.

In order to fix this issue, you will need to either copy and paste an old saved FSUIPC.ini file into a newly generated FSUIPC.ini file, or simply re calibrate all of your flight control axis, buttons and any offsets.

It’s really sad that Microsoft has done this to us Windows 10 users, truly missing the "trusty" Windows 7. I'd imagine many users will experience this same issue.

I would like to thank everyone for their swift responses. I'm always amazed by the support that’s provided by this community. There is nothing worse than being grounded when you've got that itch to fly.

Post Reply